Fairfield’s chapter of the Alpha Sigma Nu honor society welcomed 32 undergraduate students and 19 graduate students as new members in an induction ceremony held on Oct. 27.

Gathering in the Regina A. Quick Center, parents, students and alumni formally recognized the achievements of the students who have distinguished themselves as leaders both in and out of the classroom.

“True scholarship runs deeper than a high grade point average,” said inductee Paul O’Brien ‘14, who will serve as the chapter’s vice-president for the 2013-14 school year. “Education is a lifelong pursuit.”

Sharing the spotlight with the student inductees were Dr. Ashley Soyong Byun and Dr. Carl Scheraga, who were selected as this year’s Undergraduate and Graduate Teachers of the year.

Junior Elizabeth Parks was excited to learn of Scheraga’s nomination.

“He was one of the best professors I’ve had,” she said. “He constantly pushed kids out of their comfort zones to help them learn.”

Scheraga, chair of the management department in the Dolan School of Business, reciprocates his students’ affections. 

“Wherever they go, whatever they do, they will always be my students,” he said. “I do love teaching, but more importantly I do love my students.”

Teaching was never a career path that Byun, assistant professor of biology, had considered as a child.

“I wanted to be an artist, an archaeologist, an astronaut, anything but a teacher,” Byun said. “Eventually I realized that learning isn’t just a collection of facts. It’s a lifestyle and a wonderful one at that.”

Along with Byun and Scheraga, Director of Undergraduate Admission Karen Pellegrino and Administrative Assistant of Student Affairs Colleen Gilbertson were inducted into the society as honorary members.

As the focus shifted to the students, Fairfield’s Alpha Sigma Nu chapter advisor Rev. Charles H. Allen noted that all of this year’s student inductees “are desirous of sharing their talents with others.”

According to Allen, the new members demonstrate these talents by leading clubs and organization on campus, tutoring and mentoring fellow students, and volunteering within their communities.

The eligibility requirements that Allen outlined are rigorous; only students who are in the top 15 percent of their classes may be considered for membership. In addition, students must show a significant commitment to scholarship, loyalty and service.

According to the chapter’s new secretary Taylor Trenchard ‘14, her dedication to the society’s values won’t end with her graduation this spring:  “It’s a lifelong commitment,” she said.

Alpha Sigma Nu was founded in 1915 at Marquette University. Today, there are chapters at each of the 28 Jesuit universities across the United States, as well as two chapters in Canada and one in South Korea. Each year, more than 2,000 members are inducted.

This year’s Alpha Sigma Nu Inductees are:


Bayan Abunar ‘14

Juliana Anduckia ‘14

Kaitlyn Banaszynski ‘14

Kilee Bayne ‘14

Rachel Beauregard ‘14

Mary Briggs ‘14

Lauren Bruchansky ‘14

Emma Cannon ‘14

Michaela Crossen ‘14

Ryan Daly ‘14

Klevisa Kovaci ‘14

Jennifer Le ‘14

Danielle Levangie ‘14

Lauren Liseth ‘14

Tebben Lopez ‘14

Eric Lynch ‘14

Maria Mazzaro ‘14

Meaghan McCarthy ‘14

Jillian Muhlbauer ‘14

Lisa Naples ‘14

Paul O’Brien ‘14

Gregory Perraut ‘14

Lindsey Petronella ‘14

Angela Quental ‘14

Luke Record ‘14

Vincent Romano ‘14

Amina Seyal ‘14

Samantha Sherman ‘14

Olga Sidiropoulos ‘14

Laura Stakey ‘14

Erin Sullivan ‘14

Taylor Trenchard ‘14


Alison Benton

Daniel Kagdis

Kelley Brady

Sarah Lessler

Colby Welch Caron

Meghan O’Rourke-Newman

Sandy N. Cayo

Kristian Petric

Elizabeth Cragg

Lauren Rinn

Jacqueline M. Dibble

Joan Ferriter Ross

Jacob Ezerski

Juliana Louise Serraillier

Benjamin A. Gott

Monal M. Shah

Joseph A. Graziano

Olivia Fry Weeks

Kameron Isaacs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.