Just days before the Fairfield University Student Association is set to hold elections for the 75th President and Vice President positions, the Election Commissioner and Chief Justice of the FUSA Court Matthew Little ‘22 resigned on Friday, Feb. 18.  

“I voluntarily resigned from my position as Chief Justice,” Little said in a statement to the Mirror, adding, “It was an honor to serve as a justice for three years.”

Little’s resignation leaves a gap in the Election Commissioner position forcing FUSA to assign a new Commissioner and Chief Justice. 

Little stated that he did not know which of the remaining justices was named the Interim Election Commissioner, but “Regardless, given the strength and talent of the four associate justices, I am confident that the election will run well.”

FUSA President Tyler Heffern ‘22 stated to The Mirror that Little has, “…chosen to recuse himself from the presidential election so that he could devote more time to other opportunities.”

He added that Associate Justice Kasey Santos ‘24 was chosen to serve as the interim Election Commissioner for the duration of the presidential election. 

“There will be no impacts to this election and we are confident that the remaining justices will facilitate the election smoothly” Heffern added, continuing, “We are thankful for Matt’s long service as he is a valued member of our organization. We are excited for his future endeavors.”

Little’s resignation leaves yet another position open on the FUSA Court as the court expanded last year after the FUSA constitution was amended and failed to attract enough applicants to fill the seven seats. Heffern was asked and did not respond to the question regarding if there are any plans to attempt to fill the, now, empty three seats on the court.

As of Feb. 22, the FUSA Presidential/Vice Presidential candidates that have declared candidacy is as followed: Will Bradshaw ‘23 and Angeline Dortenzio ‘23, Jordan Gale ‘23 and Aliyah Seenauth ‘24, Nick Duran ‘24 and Liana Giacobbe ‘24, Cormac Brown ‘23 and Eric ​​Hawkinson ‘23 and lastly, John ​​Malolepszy ‘23 and Edward Malolepszy ‘24.

They have until midnight tonight, Feb. 22, to collect 200 signatures on their petition to participate in the debate on Thursday, Feb. 24 and be listed on the ballot. 

Ballots will open at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 26 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, March 1. The results will then be announced at the Post-Election Party at 7:00 p.m. that Tuesday, March 1 in the Lower Level of the Barone Campus Center.  

About The Author

-- Editor-in-Chief Emeritus I Art History & Politics --

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.