Both the men’s and women’s rugby teams have been creating waves on Fairfield University’s campus; many athletes are being recognized for their great attitudes on and off the field as well as their on-field abilities.

In recent news, Austin Ryan took over as the new Director of Rugby at Fairfield University. Ryan will now be spearheading operations for all things rugby at Fairfield University.

More specifically, in the men’s program, the Liberty Rugby Conference announced that four ruggers from Fairfield’s team would be recognized as All-Conference players. Juniors Connor Rinklin and Stephen Ryan took spots on the first team, Rob Betsais ‘25 placed onto the second team, and Chris Schiavello ‘22 was an honorable mention. 

The women’s team dished out team-specific awards at their end of year banquet, which saw Erin Bailey ‘23 earn the Lt. Hans Grauert Service Award for her “unselfish service to the team on and off the field”, according to Graduate Assistant of the Office of Competitive Sports Kate Welzel. Senior Cait Wood, on the other hand, earned herself the title of the team’s most valuable player, winning the Pegeen Quinn ’95 MVP Award. The namesake of this award honors the founder of the team.

The rugby team will begin to play in their “sevens” league running from March to May, which is just normal rugby played with fewer players on the pitch. 

About The Author

-- Senior I Editor-in-Chief I Marketing --

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.