Birkenstock Field House -“We’re winning this tournament” Those were the words muttered by Shockers team captain Nate Bauers, ’04 and goaltender Jack Harder ’04. The Shockers made this guarantee, like Mark Messier in the 1994 NHL Eastern Conference Finals and Broadway Joe Namath at Super Bowl III, stand up as they upset the #1 seeded senior team, the Vibe Raiders to win the Floor Hockey championship. Bauers netted 1 goal while Harder stopped 15 of 16 shots.

Kevin Harrigan, Bart James, and Tim Wallace, who also won the Basketball “B” League, each netted one. The Shockers defeated the Tailgaters 4-3 and the Goon Squad 6-2 to make it to the finals to beat the Vibe Raiders 4-2. The Vibe Raiders, led by senior team captain J.D. Desloges had the #1 seed going 9-0 on the season beating the Shockers 2-1 late in the year. They defeated the Nutty Squirrels and the freshmen 85’ers 3-2 in a breath-taking shoot-out that came down to the final shot. 3-1

At the same time, on Court 1, TBA, the “B” League Tourney favorite, turned aside the Planeteers to win the 2002 Intramural “B” League Basketball Championships. Tom Wilczewski of TBA led all scorers with 17 points. Kevin Nyrady dropped 16 for the Planeteers. With the victory, Tim Wallace of TBA earned his third intramural championship this school year (Outdoor Soccer, B League Basketball, Floor Hockey) and the fourth of his career (2001 Indoor Soccer). Can anyone say Dynasty?

Alumni Hall – Meanwhile, the Beaners and the FU Wild Women met in the first ever women’s basketball championship. In a hard fought effort, the Beaners held off the FU Wild Women 35 – 20 for the first ever Intramural Women’s Basketball Championship on the court at Alumni Hall.

All year we heard of how Hickory couldn’t miss a shot last year in the “A” League finals against the Dirty Dozen. It was an amazing performance, one that the Dirty Dozen couldn’t soon forget. Last week, they got their chance to redeem themselves in a rematch for this year’s crown.

The Dirty Dozen got an early lead and never looked back leading 37-28 at the half, going on to win 66-62. Mike DiNanno of Hickory led all scorers with 22, including 5 baskets from behind the arch. Andrew Turf led the Dozen with 16 as they got their revenge, taking the 2002 Intramural “A” League Championship.

Congratulations to all of our champions and thank you to all who participated. Thank you for making this the best and most successful winter season ever!

Coming Up…

Volleyball, Indoor Soccer and Softball are already underway and it looks like it’s going to be a great season. All sports have increased in teams from last year.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.