Mr Little Jeans – “Pocketknife”

“Pocketknife,” the debut full-length from Norwegian synthpop singer-songwriter Monica Birkenes (aka Mr Little Jeans), is easily one of the top releases of the year so far. Her versatility as an artist is highly apparent as the songs move from whimsical to moody without disturbing the overall flow of the album. Listen for the endearing toy piano and youth choir on “Oh Sailor,” one of the album’s standout tracks.

SOHN – “Tremors”

After a few glimpses of SOHN with an EP in 2012 and a single last year, SOHN will release his first full-length album next week. With an aching, soulful voice, SOHN sings of heartbreak and misery over glitchy static and throbbing drum machines, smoothly blending R&B with electronica. The London producer/singer/musician is sure to see some attention in the near future.

Tycho – “Awake”

The San Francisco-based artist released his second album earlier this month, with no lack of ethereal beats and ambient soundscapes. The all-instrumental work, similar to that of Explosions in the Sky, almost bleeds swirling colors and patterns. Tycho, known for his ability to create the kind of calming melodies and hypnotizing backbeats you’d expect in a daydream, has put together a supremely celestial record.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.